08. design: the paradise and the horror

i’ve never been a big fan of designing. actually, i hated designing. that’s why i chose research for my final year project, instead of design. i had always been good at mathematics, equations, and so on. but i was stuck in this valley of desperation called design.

this story was continued until i got a job. my first job, luckily didn’t require me to do much design work. all i did was transforming my bosses’ idea and their design into real drawing. but that doesn’t mean i did not have any chance to design. i had that chance! that kind of opportunity was considered as a gem, cause it was so rare for me, junior apprentice, to design something. yet, i failed to impress anybody. my design was epic fail then. LOL.

but i realized i did not have what it takes to be able to design landscape. i lacked of landscape knowledge. whether it was planting names or landscape construction principle, i had no idea about landscape at all. i did not know who is the best landscape architecture firm in the world, i did not know famous landscape architects at all. maybe i was just not into design.

i thought in grad school we were gonna talking about research, paper, seminar, conference, etc etc. yet i was fooled. i have to meet my biggest fear: design.

i am sitting here, in my lab desk, with bunch of tracing paper in front of me, headphone sticking in my ear, and enjoying my time to design. but why? how come i can enjoy designing?

if you are in the position that:

  1. your design is not that good, but it’s enough to make you stay in the class. with effort, you can do better in the class.
  2. the theory classes are almost incomprehensible for your brain to be processed.

i’ll take the option one, please. without any chili and please don’t make it spicy for me.

08. design: the paradise and the horror

Leave a comment